

## Société Européenne pour l'Astronomie dans la Culture European Society for Astronomy in Culture

## **Statutes**

- 1. A Society is hereby created by the name of *The European Society for Astronomy in Culture* (SEAC), hereinafter "The Society".
- 2. The aims of the Society are:
  - to promote the interdisciplinary study of astronomical practice in its cultural context as a topic of considerable importance within the general study of human societies and their relationship to their environment;
  - to promote research seeking to develop our understanding of the cultural significance of astronomical knowledge through the integration of techniques and methods within the humanities and social sciences, astronomy, and methodological disciplines.

The Society will refrain from all forms of political activity.

- 3. The Society is composed of Honorary Members, Founder Members, and Ordinary Members.
- 4. Any person who supports the aims of the Society may become an Ordinary Member provided that he or she is nominated by two members, is approved by the Executive Committee (EC), accepts the statutes and pays the membership fee. The fee payable by each category of members is fixed annually by the Annual General Meeting (AGM). In the light of prevailing economic conditions, the fee for membership in a given category may vary according to the member's country of residence.
- 5. Membership is lost
  - · by resignation;
  - · by edict of the EC for acts considered morally or materially harmful to the Society; or
  - · by edict of the EC following non-payment of fees for two consecutive years.
- 6. The Society is governed by an Executive Committee (EC) normally comprising eight members, including a President, a Secretary, and a Treasurer, and a number (normally five) of Vice-Presidents.

Each member is elected for a period of up to three years by the membership by secret ballot at the AGM. Members not able to attend the AGM are given the opportunity to vote by post prior to the meeting.

- 7. The Society shall organise meetings, edit volumes of proceedings and books, and promote the establishment and maintenance of a journal devoted to astronomy in culture in its widest sense. It shall also assist the development of projects in cultural astronomy.
- 8. The dissolution of the Society is to be approved by two thirds of all members. A proposal for dissolution must contain a proposal for the destination of the property of the Society.
- 9. The EC shall establish the by-laws necessary for the working of the Society. These must be approved by the following AGM.

## First Executive Committee

President:

Dr. C. Ruggles (United Kingdom)

Vice-Presidents:

Prof. A. Gurshtein (Russia) Prof. C. Jaschek (Spain)

Prof. G. Romano (Italy)
Dr. P. Erny (France)
Dr. A. Stoev (Bulgaria)

Secretary:

Dr. S. Iwaniszewski (Poland) Prof. W. Schlosser (Germany)

Treasurer: